Indian History – The History of India information.

Indian History – Important events.

Period Description
ca. 2500-1600 B.C. Indus Valley culture.
ca. 1500-500 B.C. Migrations of Aryan-speaking tribes; the Vedic Age.
ca. 1000 B.C. Settlement of Bengal by Dravidian-speaking peoples.
ca. 563-ca. 483 B.C. Life of Siddartha Gautama–the Buddha; founding of Buddhism.
ca. 326-184 B.C. Mauryan Empire; reign of Ashoka (269-232 B.C.); spread of Buddhism.
ca. 180 B.C.-A.D. 150 Shaka dynasties in Indus Valley.
ca. A.D. 320-550 Gupta Empire; classical age in North India.
606-47 North Indian empire of Harsha.
711 Arab invaders conquer Sindh, establish Islamic presence in India.
750-1150 Pala Dynasty.
1150-1202 Sena Dynasty.
997-1027 Mahmud of Ghazni raids Indian subcontinent from Afghanistan.
1202 Turkish conquerors defeat Sena Dynasty and overrun Bengal.
1206-1398 Delhi Sultanate.
1398 Timur sacks Delhi.
1414-50 Sayyid Dynasty; renewal of Delhi Sultanate.
1451-1526 Lodi Dynasty.
1526 Babur lays foundation of Mughal Empire; wins First Battle of Panipat.
1556-1605 Akbar expands and reforms the empire; Mughals win Second Battle of Panipat.
1605-27 Reign of Jahangir; in 1612 East India Company opens first trading post (factory).
1628-58 Reign of Shah Jahan.
1658-1707 Reign of Aurangzeb, last great Mughal ruler.
1707-1858 Lesser emperors; decline of the Mughal Empire.
1757 Battle of Plassey–British victory over Mughal forces in Bengal; British rule in India begins.
1835 Institution of British education and other reform measures.
1857-58 Revolt of Indian sepoys (soldiers) against East India Company.
1858 East India Company dissolved; rule of India under the British crown–the British Raj–begins with Government of India Act; formal end of Mughal Empire.
1885 Indian National Congress (Congress) formed.
1905 Partition of Bengal into separate provinces of Eastern Bengal and Assam, West Bengal.
1906 All-India Muslim League (Muslim League) founded.
1909 Morley-Minto Reforms; separate electorates for Muslims.
1912 Partition of Bengal annulled; new province of Bihar and Orissa formed; plans to move capital from Calcutta to Delhi announced.
1916 Congress-League Scheme of Reforms (often referred to as Lucknow Pact) signed.
1919 Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms; Government of India Act.
1935 Government of India Act of 1935.
1940 Muslim League adopts Lahore Resolution; “Two Nations” theory articulated by Muslim League leader Mohammad Ali Jinnah and others.
August 16, 1946 “Direct Action Day” of Muslim League.
August 15, 1947 Partition of British India; India achieves independence and incorporates West Bengal and Assam; Jawaharlal Nehru becomes prime minister of India. Pakistan is created and incorporates East Bengal (the East Wing, or East Pakistan) and territory in the northwest (the West Wing, or West Pakistan); Jinnah becomes governor general of Pakistan.
August 15, 1947-May 27, 1964 Jawaharlal Nehru serves as prime minister and leader of Congress-controlled government.
October 22, 1947-January 1, 1949 Undeclared war with Pakistan; ends with United Nations-arranged ceasefire.
January 30, 1948 Mahatma Gandhi assassinated in New Delhi.
October 20-November 21, 1962 Border war with China.
June 9, 1964-January 11, 1966 Lal Bhadur Shastri serves as prime minister of Congress-led government.
August 5-September 23, 1965 Second war with Pakistan.
January 24, 1966-March 24, 1977 Indira Gandhi serves as prime minister for first time, head of government initially led by Congress, later Congress (R).
December 3-16, 1971 Third war with Pakistan; Bangladesh becomes independent following Indian invasion of East Pakistan.
June 25, 1975-January 18, 1977 State of Emergency proclaimed by Indira Gandhi.
March 24, 1977-July 28, 1979 Morarji Desai serves as prime minister as head of a multiparty front, Janata Party, India’s first non-Congress government.
July 28, 1979-January 14, 1980 Chaudhury Charan Singh serves as prime minister as head of a Janata-led coalition government.
January 14, 1980-October 31, 1984 Indira Ganhdi serves as prime minister for second time, head of Congress (I) government.
October 31, 1984 Indira Gandhi assassinated in New Delhi.
October 31, 1984-December 2, 1989 Rajiv Gandhi serves as prime minister of Congress (I)-led government.
December 2, 1989-November 7, 1990 Vishwanath Pratap Singh serves as prime minister of National Front-led coalition government.
November 10, 1990-June 20, 1991 Chandra Shekhar serves as prime minister, heading Samajwadi Janata Party government.
May 21, 1991 Rajiv Gandhi assassinated near Madras.
June 20, 1991-May 15, 1996 P.V. Narasimha Rao serves as prime minister of Congress (I)-led government.
December 6, 1992 Babri Masjid in Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh, destroyed by Hindu activists.
January-March 1993 Communal violence in wake of Babri Masjid destruction wracks Indian cities, especially Bombay, which suffered from a series of bomb blasts in March.
May 1995 Unpopular Terrorist and Disruptive Activities (Prevention) Act of 1985 allowed to lapse
April 27-May 7, 1996 General elections for Lok Sabha oust Congress (I) government of P.V. Narasimha Rao.
May 15-28, 1996 Minority Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee resigns after thirteen days.
June 1, 1996 Haradanahalli (H.D.) Deve Gowda, head of thirteen-party United Front, sworn in as India’s eleventh prime minister.